Music http://ksut.org en Viking's Choice: Witch Mountain, 'Psycho Animundi' http://ksut.org/post/vikings-choice-witch-mountain-psycho-animundi For a band that went into hiding for a decade, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/135237025/witch-mountain">Witch Mountain</a> sure has made up for lost time. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Lars Gotrich 37136 at http://ksut.org Viking's Choice: Witch Mountain, 'Psycho Animundi' The Reign Of 'Purple Rain' http://ksut.org/post/reign-purple-rain <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394157/prince" target="_blank">Prince</a>'s semi-autobiographical film, <em>Purple Rain</em>, hit theaters 30 years ago this weekend. Many people went to see it multiple times, often clad in ... purple. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 09:02:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37119 at http://ksut.org The Reign Of 'Purple Rain' Nikki Lane On World Cafe http://ksut.org/post/nikki-lane-world-cafe Alt-country singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/2011/12/05/143138818/nikki-lane-on-mountain-stage" target="_blank">Nikki Lane</a> makes her <em>World Cafe</em> debut today. She released her first album in 2011 after moving to Nashville from New York, where she had been pursuing both fashion and music. She found each of those pursuits a little easier to manage in Tennessee. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 12:04:00 +0000 editor 37082 at http://ksut.org Nikki Lane On World Cafe Bob Mould On World Cafe http://ksut.org/post/bob-mould-world-cafe <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182660/bob-mould" target="_blank">Bob Mould</a>, one of the most influential artists from '80s punk with Hüsker Dü, has a new solo album, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/06/04/317159092/bob-moulds-beautiful-ruinous-life-in-punk" target="_blank">Beauty and Ruin</a>. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:53:00 +0000 editor 37032 at http://ksut.org Bob Mould On World Cafe The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' http://ksut.org/post/raveonettes-killer-streets <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOWjLfyRoQY</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 37029 at http://ksut.org The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today http://ksut.org/post/inside-sun-records-sound-marvel-even-today For more conversations with music makers, check out NPR's <a href="http://www.npr.org/sections/music-interviews/" target="_blank">Music Interviews</a>. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 editor 36987 at http://ksut.org Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today Puss N' Boots, No Fools, No Fun, feature CD, 7/25 http://ksut.org/post/puss-n-boots-no-fools-no-fun-feature-cd-725 <p>While she’s released five studio albums, sold 40 million albums and won 9 Grammys, Norah Jones can’t seem to get enough of changing things up. By our count, this is the 100th recording project with which she’s been involved in this short century, so it’s safe to say she’s a serial collaborator. And she kills ‘em all.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:05:35 +0000 Stasia Lanier 36977 at http://ksut.org Puss N' Boots, No Fools, No Fun, feature CD, 7/25 New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto http://ksut.org/post/new-mix-rentals-perfume-genius-bots-zammuto We kick off this week's episode of <em>All Songs Considered</em> with the sludgy, shoegaze-y sounds of Whirr, a band started by Nick Bassett, bassist for one of co-host Robin Hilton's favorite acts of 2014, Nothing. We follow up with a new track from <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/239718803/the-bots">The Bots</a>, two young brothers from L.A. whose "All I Really Want" is a two-minute sugar rush of high-powered pop-punk.<p>Later on the show we welcome NPR Music's Daoud Tyler–Ameen and Jacob Ganz to the studio to play some of their favorite new tunes. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 editor 36969 at http://ksut.org New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://ksut.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:48:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 36970 at http://ksut.org Song Premiere: Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate), 'A Keepsake' http://ksut.org/post/song-premiere-empire-empire-i-was-lonely-estate-keepsake If emo has cheerleaders, they're Keith and Cathy Latinen. Since 2007, the Michigan-based husband and wife have tirelessly run the <a href="http://countyourluckystars.bandcamp.com/" target="_blank">Count Your Lucky Stars</a> label during a time when the genre didn't have many vocal supporters. Many of its releases have inspired bands in the now-thriving young scene to take up the '90s Midwest emo sound and do what they will.<p>The Latinens are also behind the complicatedly named Empire! Empire! Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Lars Gotrich 36965 at http://ksut.org Song Premiere: Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate), 'A Keepsake'