Morning Edition on Four Corners http://ksut.org en Sheriff Puts Inmates Back In Stripes As Orange Jumpsuits Gain Fame http://ksut.org/post/sheriff-puts-inmates-back-stripes-orange-jumpsuits-gain-fame The Michigan sheriff worried that the Netflix series Orange Is the New Black has turned orange jumpsuits into a fashion statement. So, they're out. And black and white stripes are back in. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:27:00 +0000 editor 36957 at http://ksut.org Woman Will Officiate Big 12 Football Game For The First Time http://ksut.org/post/woman-will-officiate-big-12-football-game-first-time Catherine Conti will be part of the crew when Kansas plays Southeast Missouri State. The officiating supervisor says Conti got the job because she's "darned good." Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:25:00 +0000 editor 36956 at http://ksut.org Violence Flares In Libya, Leaving Main Airport In Ruins http://ksut.org/post/violence-flares-libya-leaving-main-airport-ruins Militias in Libya spent the past week battling for control of the main airport in Tripoli, leaving much of it in ruins and dozens dead. Steve Inskeep gets the latest from The Guardian's Chris Stephen. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 36945 at http://ksut.org Kerry's Aim In Egypt: First, Get Israel And Hamas To Cease Fire http://ksut.org/post/kerrys-aim-egypt-first-get-israel-and-hamas-cease-fire Secretary of State John Kerry is in Cairo trying to help forge a cease-fire between Israel and Hamas. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 36946 at http://ksut.org Telecommuting Didn't Work Out For One Transplanted Worker http://ksut.org/post/telecommuting-didnt-work-out-one-transplanted-worker All summer, we're talking with out-of-work young adults about how they're making ends meet. Chrystina Gastlelum, 32, moved to Maine from New York City and tried to keep doing her job remotely. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 36954 at http://ksut.org Rosetta Spacecraft Readies For Rendezvous With Comet http://ksut.org/post/rosetta-spacecraft-readies-rendezvous-comet The Rosetta spacecraft hibernated for 31 months while its orbit took it too far away from the sun for its solar arrays to keep it operational. It's ready for a rendezvous with a comet Aug. 6. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 36955 at http://ksut.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them http://ksut.org/post/save-these-pigs-ky-farmer-says-we-have-eat-them Robertson County has the smallest population of any county in the state of Kentucky, and it's the only one, word has it, without a stoplight.<p>So it's an unlikely place to find a campaign to keep the food system more genetically diverse. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:52:00 +0000 Leslie Guttman 36911 at http://ksut.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them Company Says It Can Cure Your Hangover – For Up To $300 A Visit http://ksut.org/post/company-says-it-can-cure-your-hangover-300-visit Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. People waking up with a hellacious hangover often say they'd pretty much give anything to make it go away. And a new company promising to do just that is thriving in New York. For up to $300 a visit, it will send a nurse to your home armed with medicine and - this is key - an IV for instant rehydration. Given the treatment cost more than the night out at the bar, though, you might want to stick with the hair of the dog. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 36909 at http://ksut.org Arkansas Razorbacks Trademark Famous Hog Call http://ksut.org/post/arkansas-razorbacks-trademark-famous-hog-call The famous hog call chanted by fans of the sports teams of the University of Arkansas Razorbacks is now a registered trademark owned by the school. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 36904 at http://ksut.org Report Of Expired Meat Sparks Food Safety Scare In China http://ksut.org/post/report-expired-meat-sparks-food-safety-scare-china Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>NPR's business news begins with another food safety scare in China. It affects some American fast food restaurants in China. They've stopped using meat from a supplier in Shanghai, after reports that the supplier was selling expired beef and chicken. A local TV station alleges that workers at the Shanghai Husi Food Company, owned by the Illinois-based OSI group, repackaged stale beef and chicken with new expiration dates and the food was then sold to McDonald's, KFC and Pizza Hut. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 36905 at http://ksut.org